Aide d’urgence au patrimoine culturel en Ukraine

décembre 17, 2015

Opishne, Ukraine, 23-25 novembre 2015

 

FAC_Ukraine_posterLe Musée national de la poterie ukrainienne d’Opishne a récemment accueilli un atelier sur «L’aide d’urgence au patrimoine culturel en temps de crise : les stratégies internationales pour l’Ukraine », un événement s’inspirant du cours sur l’aide d’urgence (FAC) de l’ICCROM tenu au printemps à Amsterdam, en partenariat avec la Smithsonian Institution, la Commission nationale des Pays-Bas pour l’UNESCO, et plusieurs collaborateurs locaux.

L’atelier de trois jours, qui utilisait la méthodologie et le contenu du cours FAC, a été organisé en Ukraine pour répondre aux multiples défis et menaces auxquels le pays est confronté. Le mouvement civil du Maïdan et le conflit armé en cours dans l’est de l’Ukraine ont mis en péril des centaines de musées et de sites patrimoniaux. Par conséquent, il est absolument crucial de renforcer les connaissances relatives à divers aspects de la gestion des risques de catastrophes, afin de concevoir des stratégies et des plans permettant de réduire les risques de dommages pour le patrimoine culturel. Il est tout aussi fondamental d’intégrer les politiques et les initiatives internationales aux pratiques nationales et locales, et de renforcer les capacités afin que les communautés puissent être davantage résilientes et à même d’agir en cas de crise. Lire suite…


D’anciens participants sri-lankais créent un groupe d’alumni

janvier 8, 2015

ICCROM Alumni and Friends logo (gray)Le mois dernier, plusieurs anciens participants d’un cours de l’ICCROM, originaires du Sri Lanka, se sont réunis à l’Institut supérieur d’Archéologie dans le cadre d’une session de réseautage et pour former un groupe d’alumni. Le Directeur de l’Institut, Jagath Weerasinghe, qui a lui-même participé au cours sur les peintures murales (MPC) en 1985 avant de revenir à l’ICCROM dans le cadre d’une bourse de recherche en 2008, a été élu Président des alumni, et s’est engagé à faire son possible pour que le groupe s’avère actif.

Le Directeur général de l’ICCROM, Stefano De Caro, en mission au Sri Lanka au même moment, a participé à cette réunion. Admiratif des efforts déployés par les alumni sri-lankais, il a indiqué qu’en tant que membres de la « famille ICCROM », ceux-ci sont à même de jouer un rôle fondamental dans le développement et les activités futurs de l’organisation.

Parmi les participants se trouvait un professionnel de la conservation réputé, Roland Silva, qui a participé au cours sur la conservation architecturale (ARC) en 1967 avant de devenir Président d’ICOMOS International, de 1990 à 1999. Il a également été Directeur du Département d’Archéologie du Sri Lanka, et lauréat du Prix Piero Gazzola en 1999.

ICCROM Alumni in Sri Lanka


Résolution sur la relation entre l’archéologie et les communautés

mars 27, 2014

Lors du 7e Congrès archéologique mondial (WAC-7), qui s’est tenu du 14 au 18 janvier 2013 en Jordanie, un groupe d’anciens participants au cours de l’ICCROM ont organisé une session sur « Les vies passées au présent ». À l’issue de la session , la résolution suivante avait été adoptée en séance plénière, et vient d’être confirmée par les dirigeants du WAC.

Résolution concernant la relation de l’archéologie et des archéologues avec les communautés gardiennes et affiliées existantes

Proposée par Neel Kamal Chapagain (Népal) et Michael J. Kimball (États-Unis), suite à la session du WAC-7 intitulée « Le passé vit dans le présent ».

La communauté archéologique cherche de plus en plus à nouer des relations avec les communautés locales à travers des activités de recherche et d’éducation, et notamment la sensibilisation des publics. Lire suite…


Cultural heritage: a basic human need

février 25, 2014

Désolé, cet article est seulement disponible en Anglais. Pour le confort de l’utilisateur, le contenu est affiché ci-dessous dans une autre langue. Vous pouvez cliquer le lien pour changer de langue active.

Sada Mire at TEDx Euston

Sada Mire is a Somalian archaeologist. She lived the first fifteen years of her life in Mogadishu, until 1991, when she settled in Sweden, as a result of the conflict in north-east Africa. She is founder and executive director of the Horn Heritage Organization. In her talk she demonstrates how culture is inseparable with the world around us and how communities can be enriched by it.

Sada participated in our inaugural course on First Aid to Cultural Heritage in Times of Conflict in 2011. She is also spearheading a project in partnership with ICCROM, the Swiss Government and CyArk on the digital recording of rock art in Somaliland.

First Aid to Cultural Heritage in Ukraine

December 17, 2015

Opishne, Ukraine, 23-25 November 2015

 

FAC_Ukraine_posterThe National Museum of Ukranian Pottery in Opishne recently hosted a workshop on “First Aid to Cultural Heritage in Times of Crisis: International Strategies for Ukraine”, an event inspired by the ICCROM First Aid (FAC) course held earlier this spring in Amsterdam in partnership with the Smithsonian Institution, the Netherlands National Commission for UNESCO and several local collaborators.

Using the FAC methodology and curriculum, the three-day event in Ukraine was created in response to the country’s multiple challenges and threats. The Maidan civil movement and armed conflict in eastern Ukraine have endangered hundreds of museums and heritage places. As a result, there is a crucial need to strengthen knowledge on various aspects of disaster risk management in order to devise strategies and plans to reduce risks of damage to cultural heritage. It is also vital that international policies and efforts are integrated into national and local practices and capacities are built so that communities are more resilient and able to take action in a crisis situation. Continue reading…


Former Sri Lankan ICCROM course participants create an alumni group

January 8, 2015

ICCROM Alumni and Friends logo (gray)Last month several former ICCROM course participants from Sri Lanka met at the Postgraduate Institute of Archaeology to hold a networking event and form an alumni group. The Institute’s Director, Jagath Weerasinghe, who himself participated in ICCROM’s Mural Paintings course (MPC) in 1985 and returned in 2008 as a research fellow, was elected President of the alumni and has committed to ensuring that the group remains active.

ICCROM’s Director-General Stefano De Caro was on mission in Sri Lanka at the time and participated in the meeting. Appreciative of the efforts of the Sri Lankan alumni, he indicated that as members of the “ICCROM Family”, they can play a major role in the future development and activities of the organization.

Among the participants was distinguished conservation professional, Roland Silva, who attended the Architectural Conservation (ARC) course in 1967 and later became President of ICOMOS International from 1990 to 1999. He was also the Head of the Department of Archaeology of Sri Lanka and a recipient of the Piero Gazzola Prize in 1999.
ICCROM Alumni in Sri Lanka


Resolution on the relationship between archaeology and communities

March 27, 2014

During the 7th World Archaeological Congress (WAC-7), held 14-18 January 2013 in Jordan, a group of former ICCROM course participants organized a session on “The Past Lives in the Present”. As an outcome of the session, the following resolution was adopted at the plenary and has now been confirmed by the Executive of the WAC.

Resolution concerning the relationship of archaeology and archaeologists with extant custodial and affiliated communities

Proposed by Neel Kamal Chapagain (Nepal) and Michael J Kimball (USA), and derived from a WAC-7 session titled “The Past is Living in the Present.”

The archaeological community increasingly engages with local communities through research and educational activities including public outreach. Continue reading…


Cultural heritage: a basic human need

February 25, 2014

Sada Mire at TEDx Euston

Sada Mire is a Somalian archaeologist. She lived the first fifteen years of her life in Mogadishu, until 1991, when she settled in Sweden, as a result of the conflict in north-east Africa. She is founder and executive director of the Horn Heritage Organization. In her talk she demonstrates how culture is inseparable with the world around us and how communities can be enriched by it.

Sada participated in our inaugural course on First Aid to Cultural Heritage in Times of Conflict in 2011. She is also spearheading a project in partnership with ICCROM, the Swiss Government and CyArk on the digital recording of rock art in Somaliland.