Planifier l’impact de la recherche

août 29, 2017

La recherche est un processus communicatif. Sa valeur est renforcée par l’échange de savoir et par l’application pratique. Bien que l’impact ait toujours constitué sa motivation fondamentale, il n’est pas aisé de planifier une recherche susceptible d’avoir un impact au-delà des limites de l’Université. Cela exige du temps, des efforts et un milieu de travail favorable.

Pour analyser l’impact de la science du patrimoine et la manière de le renforcer, l’ICCROM a coordonné un atelier le 20 juin dans le cadre de la 3ème Conférence Internationale pour la science et l’ingénierie en arts, patrimoine et archéologie (SEAHA), qui s’est tenue les 19 et 20 juin 2017 à l’université de Brighton, Royaume-Uni.

Cet atelier s’est concentré sur les objectifs actuels de planification d’une recherche inclusive et sur la manière de mettre ces objectifs en pratique. Il était articulé en deux parties : une table ronde qui a réuni des acteurs clés de la recherche dans le domaine de la science du patrimoine et dans d’autres secteurs, et un exercice de travail de groupe. L’un des principaux points examinés a été la production d’impact en dehors du monde universitaire.

L’atelier s’est concentré sur ce qui permet de rendre la recherche impactante et sur la manière d’atteindre ce résultat. Il a également examiné d’autres aspects de la question, comme la diversité et la constitution de partenariats collaboratifs forts en dehors de l’Université pour la recherche et la conservation du patrimoine.

Lire suite…


Prof Vincenzo Scotti

juillet 13, 2017

Prof Vincenzo Scotti, Prof Richard OramOn 12 July, Prof Vincenzo Scotti of the Università degli Studi Link Campus University in Rome and Prof Richard Oram, Dean of Faculty of Arts and Humanities, Stirling University, UK, visited ICCROM.

They were welcomed by the Director-General, Prof Stefano De Caro, and by Paul Arenson, Manager, Knowledge and Communication Services.  They also visited the 2017 Summer School in course at ICCROM, guided by Katriina Similä, Project Manager, Collections Unit.

Member States represented – Italy, United Kingdom


Le Prince Charles visite le centre ICCROM-ATHAR

novembre 11, 2016

Prince Charles visits the ICCROM-ATHAR Centre
Le 8 novembre, le Prince Charles du Royaume-Uni, a rendu visite au Centre régional de conservation ICCROM-ATHAR à Sharjah, dans le cadre d’une visite officielle aux Émirats arabes unis. Le Prince était accompagné de Son Altesse le Sheikh Sultan Bin Mohammed Al Qasimi, membre du Conseil suprême et Gouverneur de Sharjah.

Lire suite…


Conservation et utilisation des collections d’Asie du Sud-Est

février 17, 2016

Le coup d’envoi du cours CollAsia sur la conservation et l’utilisation des collections d’Asie du Sud-Est a été lancé le 8 février à Bandung (Indonésie). Cette activité de formation, organisée en collaboration avec le Musée géologique de Bandung et l’Agence géologique d’Indonésie, du Ministère pour l’Energie et les Ressources minérales, et avec le soutien de l’Administration coréenne du patrimoine culturel (CHA), a réuni 34 professionnels de la conservation représentant 18 pays différents. Ils vont se pencher, durant trois semaines, sur les défis que constituent la conservation et l’utilisation des collections.

L’inauguration du cours a eu lieu à l’Auditorium de l’Agence géologique, avec une somptueuse cérémonie traditionnelle indonésienne offerte par l’Agence géologique et présentée par le Directeur du Musée géologique de Bandung, M. Oman Abdurahman, le vice-ministre du Tourisme, et la Commission nationale indonésienne pour l’UNESCO.
Lire suite…


Aptitude à la communication et à l’enseignement

juillet 20, 2015

École internationale d’été sur l’aptitude à la communication et à l’enseignement de la science pour la conservation
13 – 24 juillet 2015 à Rome (Italie)

La deuxième édition de l’École internationale d’été sur l’aptitude à la communication et à l’enseignement de la science pour la conservation a commencé le 15 juillet au siège de l’ICCROM à Rome. Cette session de formation de deux semaines a réuni des professionnels de divers pays et horizons en vue d’examiner les possibilités offertes par différentes approches didactiques et méthodes d’apprentissage sur la science pour la conservation, et de revoir les pratiques existantes. L’apprentissage a lieu dans le cadre de sessions interactives organisées en salle de classe et autour de Rome.

Lire suite…


Nouvelle stagiaire : Emily Williams

juillet 16, 2015

Emily Williams

L’ICCROM est heureux d’accueillir Emily Williams du Royaume-Uni et de l’Italie. Elle sera avec nous jusqu’à la fin du mois de septembre.

Emily a obtenu sa Licence en conservation au Camberwell College of Art avant de recevoir un diplôme de troisième cycle en histoire de l’art toujours au Courtauld Institute of Art et un Master en conservation à l’University College of London (UCL). Elle entreprend actuellement un Master de deux ans en sciences de la conservation à l’UCL où elle a acquit une compréhension plus profonde des traitements scientifiques des matériaux et de la conservation. Ses précédentes expériences incluent des stages dans les départements de conservation du papier à l’Ashmolean Museum d’Oxford et au Musée américain d’histoire naturelle à New York. Dans le cadre de son cursus universitaire, elle fera un stage au département de conservation des matières organiques au British Museum cet automne.

Durant son stage à l’ICCROM, Emily travaillera aux Archives en conduisant une évaluation de l’état de la collection photographique et du relogement des diapositives de la collection

États membres représentés : Royaume-Uni et Italie


Mesurer l’impact des sciences du patrimoine

juillet 15, 2015

Suite donnée au forum de l’ICCROM : réunion de réflexion sur l’évaluation des résultats des sciences du patrimoine

Comment évaluer les impacts ? Par où commencer ?

Grupo photoL’attestation de résultats est hautement prioritaire dans de nombreux domaines – en particulier pour ceux qui dépendent de levées de fonds et d’appuis publics conséquents pour survivre. Ces dernières années, les activités menées en ce sens ont été multipliées dans le contexte de la culture et du patrimoine culturel. Toutefois, si l’importance de l’évaluation des résultats et des impacts est de plus en plus reconnue, les difficultés sont également nombreuses en ce qui concerne l’établissement de libellés, de méthodes et de cadres communs. En d’autres termes, si les avantages offerts par l’exercice sont aisément visibles, ils restent difficiles à mettre en pratique.

Lire suite…


Nouvelle stagiaire : Jessica Edwards

juin 26, 2015

Jessica EdwardsL’ICCROM est heureux d’accueillir Jessica Edwards. De nationalité britannique, Jessica est titulaire d’une licence en théologie de l’Université d’Oxford, et bénéficie d’une vaste expérience dans l’industrie télévisuelle, consistant à adapter des produits culturels à différents publics. Elle prépare actuellement une maitrise en Patrimoine culturel durable à l’American University of Rome (AUR), l’Université américaine de Rome. Dans le cadre de son plan d’étude de recherche, et grâce à un accord entre l’ICCROM et l’AUR, le stage curriculaire de Jessica aura lieu cet été à l’ICCROM.

En tant que stagiaire au sein du Bureau du Directeur général, Jessica conduira des recherches pour le projet « Nouveau siège de l’ICCROM et exposition », s’appuyant sur l’expérience du module « Lever des fonds pour les projets du patrimoine culturel » du master de l’AUR enseigné par Peter Gould. Elle travaillera également en vue de finaliser le rapport de recherche « Outils de levée de fonds du patrimoine culturel de l’Italie » (2013), réalisé par Invitalia en collaboration avec l’ICCROM. Ces deux projets constitueront une contribution à ses recherches pour sa thèse sur la levée de fonds pour le patrimoine culturel et la philanthropie en Italie.

État membre représenté: Royaume-Uni


L’histoire orale au service de la conservation du patrimoine culturel

mai 28, 2015

Sharjah (Emirats arabes uni)

Group picture of the participants of the Oral History course offered by ATHAR in SharjahSous le patronage de Son Altesse le Sheikh Sultan bin Mohammed Al Qasimi, Membre du Conseil suprême des Émirats arabes unis et Gouverneur de Sharjah, et en collaboration avec l’UCL-Qatar, une formation liminaire d’une semaine, intitulée « L’Histoire orale au service de la conservation du patrimoine culturel », a pris fin aujourd’hui au Centre régional de conservation ICCROM-ATHAR de Sharjah (Émirats arabes unis). Cette formation s’inscrit dans une série de cours intitulée « Conservation éclairée » qui est destinée aux professionnels souhaitant étendre leurs connaissances et expériences pratiques dans les domaines de la conservation du patrimoine culturel.

Cette formation d’une semaine avait pour objet de renforcer les capacités des professionnels de la conservation de la région arabe dans le domaine de l’histoire orale, et d’examiner le rôle de cette dernière en tant que preuve d’un patrimoine culturel. La formation a examiné la manière dont le récit personnel sur le passé est construit, ainsi que ses raisons d’être, et présenté la façon dont les entretiens doivent être conduits et analysés en vue d’éclairer les décisions prises pour la conservation du patrimoine culturel. Les quatorze participants étaient des gestionnaires de sites, des archéologues, des architectes, des muséologues et des conservateurs de collections. Lire suite…


Début du Cours sur la conservation de la pierre à Rome

avril 15, 2015

Un autre cours sur la pierre ?
Quelle est la nouveauté ?
Quelle est la différence ?

poster for the 2015 stone coursePour la dix-neuvième fois depuis 1976, un groupe de professionnels en milieu de carrière représentant 20 pays différents sont réunis dans le cadre du Cours international sur la conservation de la pierre coorganisé par l’ICCROM en partenariat avec le Getty Conservation Institute. Le Cimetière non-catholique de Rome accueillera les activités de terrain tout au long du cours, et YoCoCu apportera son assistance pour les exercices en laboratoire.

Trente-deux conférenciers travaillant dans des universités, des musées, des organisations culturelles nationales et des organismes de conservation du monde entier ont été sélectionnés afin d’offrir la meilleure formation possible dans le domaine. L’équipe ICCROM-Getty conduira le cours pour la quatrième fois, guidée par les coordinateurs du cours Simon Warrack, Consultant de l’ICCROM, et Benjamin Marcus, Spécialiste de projet au GCI.

Nous avons reçu plus de quatre-vingt-dix dossiers d’inscription, et il est très difficile de ne retenir que 20 candidats parmi autant de personnes enthousiastes et compétentes. Les participants constituent la matière-même du cours, et ce sont eux qui bénéficient non seulement de la formation mais aussi des échanges relatifs aux expériences professionnelles et personnelles provenant du monde entier. Ils repartiront dans leurs pays respectifs riches de ces nouvelles connaissances à partager avec leurs collègues et étudiants. Lire suite…

Designing for Research Impact

August 29, 2017

Research is a communicative process.  Its value is enhanced through knowledge exchange and incorporation into practice. Though impact has always been the primary motivation for research, designing research that generates impact beyond academia is not straightforward. It takes time, commitment, and a supportive working environment.

To explore the issue of heritage science impact and how this can be strengthened, ICCROM coordinated a workshop on 20 June at the 3rd International Conference for Science and Engineering in Arts, Heritage and Archaeology (SEAHA), held on 19-20 June 2017 at the University of Brighton, United Kingdom.

The workshop focused on current aspirations for inclusive research design and how to put them into practice.  It was structured in two parts: a panel discussion that brought together key research stakeholders from within and beyond the heritage science sector, and a group work exercise. A central point of reference was the generation of non-academic impact.

The sessions focused on what makes research impactful and how that is achieved. It also explored issues of diversity and the building of strong collaborative partnerships beyond academia for heritage research and preservation. Continue reading…


Link Campus University and Stirling University

July 13, 2017

Prof Vincenzo Scotti, Prof Richard OramOn 12 July, Prof Vincenzo Scotti of the Università degli Studi Link Campus University, Rome, brought a delegation to visit ICCROM that included Prof Richard Oram, Dean of Faculty of Arts and Humanities, Stirling University, UK, and other colleagues from Italy and Malta.

They were welcomed by the Director-General, Prof Stefano De Caro, and by Paul Arenson, Manager, Knowledge and Communication Services.  They also visited the 2017 Summer School in course at ICCROM, guided by Katriina Similä, Project Manager, Collections Unit.

Member States represented – Italy, Malta, United Kingdom


Prince Charles visits the ICCROM-ATHAR Centre

November 11, 2016

Prince Charles visits the ICCROM-ATHAR CentreOn 8 November, Prince Charles of the United Kingdom, as part of an official visit to the United Arab Emirates, paid a visit to the ICCROM-ATHAR Regional Conservation Centre in Sharjah.  He was accompanied on this visit by His Highness Dr Sheikh Sultan Bin Mohammed Al Qasimi, Supreme Council Member and Ruler of Sharjah. Continue reading…


Conservation and Use of Southeast Asian Collections

February 17, 2016

On February 8th the CollAsia course on Conservation and Use of Southeast Asian Collections began in Bandung, Indonesia. The training activity, organized in collaboration with the Bandung Geological Museum and the Geological Agency of Indonesia, Ministry for Energy and Mineral Resources, with the support of the Korean Cultural Heritage Administration (CHA), brought together 34 conservation professionals from 18 countries. They will spend three weeks exploring the challenges of conserving and using collections.

The activity was inaugurated at the Geological Agency Auditorium, with a grand traditional Indonesian ceremony offered by the Geological Agency and presented by the Head of Bandung Geological Museum, Mr Oman Abdurahman, the Vice Minister of Tourism and the Indonesian National Commission for UNESCO. Continue reading…


Communication and teaching skills

July 20, 2015

International Summer School on Communication and Teaching skills in Conservation and Science
13 – 24 July 2015. Rome, Italy

The second edition of the International Summer School on Communication and Teaching skills in Conservation and Science began on 15 July at the ICCROM headquarters in Rome. This two-week training session has brought together professionals from a variety of countries and backgrounds to explore the potential of different didactic approaches, approaches to learning about conservation and science, and revisiting existing practices. Learning is taking place through interactive sessions both in the classroom and around Rome. Continue reading…


New Intern: Emily Williams

July 16, 2015

Emily WilliamsICCROM welcomes Emily Williams from United Kingdom and Italy. She will be with us until the end of September.

Emily obtained her bachelor’s degree in conservation from Camberwell College of Art before receiving a  postgraduate diploma in Art History from Courtauld Institute of Art and a Master of Arts in conservation from University College London. She is currently undertaking a two-year Masters of Science in conservation at UCL where she has gained a deeper understanding of materials science and conservation treatments. Previous experiences include internships in the paper conservation departments at the Ashmolean Museum in Oxford and the American Museum of Natural History in New York. As part of her ongoing studies, she will be starting a placement in the organics conservation department at the British Museum this fall.

During her internship at ICCROM, Emily will be working in the archives conducting a condition assessment of the photographic collection and re-housing part of the collection’s lantern slides

Member State represented: United Kingdom and Italy


Measuring the impact of heritage science

July 15, 2015

ICCROM Forum follow up: Think-tank meeting Evaluating the Outcomes of Heritage Science

How to measure impact? Where to start?

Grupo photoDemonstrating impact is a high priority in many fields – especially those which rely on effective fundraising and public support for survival – and in recent years there has been increasing activity in this area with regard to culture and cultural heritage. However, while there is growing recognition of the importance  of evaluating outcomes and impact, at the same time there are widespread difficulties in establishing common frameworks, language and methods. In other words, although it is easy to see the merits of the exercise, it remains difficult to apply in practice.

Continue reading…


New intern: Jessica Edwards

June 26, 2015

Jessica EdwardsICCROM welcomes Jessica Edwards from the United Kingdom. Jessica holds a BA in Theology from the University of Oxford and has extensive experience in the television industry, tailoring products for different cultural audiences. She is currently working towards her MA in Sustainable Cultural Heritage at the American University of Rome (AUR). As part of her plan of research studies, and within the framework of an agreement between ICCROM and the AUR, Jessica’s curricular internship will be hosted at ICCROM this summer.

As an intern for the Office of the Director-General, Jessica will carry out research for the project “ICCROM New Building & Exhibition”, drawing on the experience of the “Fundraising for Cultural Heritage projects” module of the AUR Master, taught by Dr Peter Gould. She will also work on finalizing the “Italy’s Cultural Heritage Fundraising Tools” (2013) research report, carried out by Invitalia in collaboration with ICCROM. Both Projects will contribute to the research for her Master’s Thesis on cultural heritage fundraising and philanthropy in Italy.

Member State represented: United Kingdom


Oral History for Cultural Heritage Preservation

May 28, 2015

Sharjah, United Arab Emirates

Group picture of the participants of the Oral History course offered by ATHAR in SharjahUnder the Patronage of HH Dr Sheikh Sultan bin Mohammed Al Qasimi, Member of the Supreme Council of the United Arab Emirates and Ruler of Sharjah, and in collaboration with UCL-Qatar, a one-week introductory training course on Oral History for Cultural Heritage Preservation concluded at the ICCROM-ATHAR Regional Conservation Centre in Sharjah, UAE. This course is part of a short course series titled “Informed Conservation”, aimed at professionals who are looking to expand their working knowledge and experience in the fields of cultural heritage conservation.

This one-week course aimed at building the capacity of conservation professionals in the Arab region in the field of oral history, in order to examine the role of oral history as evidence of cultural heritage. The course explored the “how” and “why” personal narratives of the past are constructed, and demonstrated how interviews are to be conducted and analyzed to help inform decisions for cultural heritage preservation. The fourteen participants that took part in the course include site managers, archaeologists, architects, museum specialists and collections curators. Continue reading…


Course on Stone Conservation begins in Rome

April 15, 2015

Another stone course?
What’s new?
What’s different?

poster for the 2015 stone courseFor the nineteenth time since 1976 a group of mid-career professionals from 20 different countries are gathering for the International Course on Stone Conservation co-organized by ICCROM in partnership with the Getty Conservation Institute. The Non-Catholic Cemetery in Rome will be hosting the field activities throughout the course and YoCoCu will provide assistance during lab exercises.

Thirty-two lecturers from universities, museums, national cultural organizations and conservation practices all over the world have been selected to offer the best possible training in the field. The ICCROM-Getty team will be running the course together for the fourth time now, with ICCROM Consultant Simon Warrack and GCI Project Specialist Benjamin Marcus acting as course coordinators.

We received over ninety applications and it is a tough job to select 20 from so many enthusiastic and competent applicants. The participants are the life blood of the course and it is they who benefit from not only the training but the shared work and life experience from all over the world. They will take this new knowledge back to their countries to share with their colleagues and students. Continue reading…