International Centre for the Study of the Preservation and Restoration of Cultural Property
Nominations now open for the ICCROM…

Nominations now open for the ICCROM Award

Nominations now open for the ICCROM Award

ICCROM is launching its call for nominations for the 2021 ICCROM Award.

What is it? 

The ICCROM Award is presented every two years to someone who has contributed greatly to the Organization’s mission. In the past, nominations have been made by the ICCROM Council, but they have now decided to open up the nomination process more widely to the general public. Nevertheless, all nominations do need to be seconded by a member of the ICCROM Council before being considered complete.

Who is eligible? 

  • An ICCROM course participant who has done exemplary work in their country or in their field after their experience in an ICCROM activity
  • A teacher or consultant on ICCROM activity teams 
  • A former member of the ICCROM Council
  • A former member of the ICCROM Secretariat 

When can I nominate? 

Nominations are open now until 14 August 2020. The nomination will be considered for the Award, which will be presented at ICCROM’s 32nd General Assembly in November 2021.

Who decides? 

After the preliminary review of the ICCROM Award Committee, ICCROM Council makes the final decision on who wins the award. 

Who have won it before? 

iccrom award

The full list of the ICCROM Award recipients can be found here. Last year Grellan Rourke received the Award, and an Honorary Mention was directed to Khaled Al Asaad posthumously.  

I do not know anyone on the ICCROM Council. How can I find someone to support the nomination?

If you need help finding a member of the ICCROM Council who can support the nomination, please send an email to

Where can I find more info? 

Please read through the ICCROM Award Terms of Reference for a detailed explanation of the Award and the selection process.