International Centre for the Study of the Preservation and Restoration of Cultural Property
Governing structure

Governing structure

ICCROM is governed by a General Assembly and a Council.


General Assembly

The General Assembly meets in ordinary session every two years in Rome, Italy, and it consists of delegates from all ICCROM member states, usually government officials or experts associated with conservation and restoration of cultural properties.

The General Assembly determines the general policies of ICCROM. It approves its biennial Programme of Work and Budget (PWB), elects the Council members and appoints the Director-General. The Assembly’s other functions include approving reports on Council and Secretariat activities; determining Member State contributions, adopting ICCROM’s financial regulations and approving changes to the Statutes.



Acting under the authority of the General Assembly, the Council monitors the execution of the Programme of Work and Budget (PWB) of the organization and formulates long-term policies of the agency in close collaboration with the director-general. It guides ICCROM in the elaboration of the Programme of Work and Budget, reports on its progress and makes recommendations to the General Assembly.

The Council includes 25 persons, elected by the General Assembly from within its members, and six ex officio members representing UNESCO, the Italian Government, Instituto Superiore per la Conservazione ed il Restauro, as well as the International Council of Museums (ICOM), the International Council on Monuments and Sites (ICOMOS) and the International Union for Conservation of Nature ( IUCN). Council members are elected for four years for a maximum of two consecutive terms.


  • Oliver Martin


Vice Presidents

  • John Robbins
  • Patricia Kell


Other Council members

  • Yong-Jae CHUNG
  • Hilde DE CLERCQ
  • Sarkis EL KHOURY
  • Aglal M. Elzubair EL MALIK
  • Florencia GEAR
  • Riadh HADJ SAID
  • Michaëla HANSSEN
  • Monther JAMHAWI
  • Wataru KAWANOBE
  • Patricia KELL
  • Oliver MARTIN
  • Thembelani NHLABATSI
  • Anne NYHAMAR
  • Zoe REID
  • Birgitta RINGBECK
  • John ROBBINS
  • Mohammad Hassan TALEBIAN
  • Julia Antonia VICIOSO VARELAS
  • Gihane ZAKI
  • Kamil ZEIDLER
  • Ye ZHU


In addition to these elected members, the ICCROM Council has as ex officio members representing: