International Centre for the Study of the Preservation and Restoration of Cultural Property


N.B.: General country data and external links have been provided by the Member State. * Uploaded: 06/2020

General Country data

The main cultural assets of Austria

Situated in the very core of the European continent as well as at the crossroads of crucial trans-European and transalpine trading routes, Austria has always played a major role as a transitional hub for economic and cultural exchange. This greatly influenced the emergence of a rich cultural tradition, both urban and rural, manifesting itself in both tangible and intangible heritage of remarkable diversity. The main periods of European cultural history are represented through outstanding works of architecture and art, cultural and urban landscapes, as well as through elaborated craftmanship techniques. Furthermore, Austria is famous for its rich musical tradition, particularly since the 18th century.

The legal framework on cultural heritage conservation

Heritage conservation in Austria is the common objective of all levels of political and administrative responsibility. The Federal Monuments Protection Act provides the legal framework for the protection and conservation of listed moveable and immoveable cultural property, whereas matters of landscape protection or building regulation lie within the responsibility of the provinces or communities, respectively. Apart from the 2001 Convention on the Protection of the Underwater Cultural Heritage, Austria has ratified all of UNESCO’s cultural Conventions.

The cultural and natural sites on the World Heritage List

So far, nine cultural sites and one natural site are listed on the UNESCO World Heritage List. In addition to the historic city centres of Salzburg, Graz and Vienna and the “Palace and Gardens of Schönbrunn”, World Heritage in Austria also includes one industrial heritage site (Semmering Railway) and three cultural landscapes (Wachau, Fertö-Neusiedlersee, Dachstein/Hallstatt-Salzkammergut). Component parts of the transnational, serial World Heritage site “Prehistoric Pile Dwellings around the Alps” are also situated in Austria, as well as two component parts of the “Ancient and Primaeval Beech Forests of the Carpatians and other Regions of Europe”.

Adhesion to ICCROM

Austria is a Member State of ICCROM since 20/05/1957


Mandates in ICCROM Council since 1958:

  • 1960-1969: Gertrude Tripp
  • 1973-1984: Manfred Koller
  • 1994-2000: Franz Neuwirth
  • 2002-2009: Gabriela Moroder-Krist
  • 2010-2013: Bruno Maldoner

ICCROM Staff since 1959: 1

Involvement of Austrian Nationals

Activities in/with Austria since 2002

Activities details

Activities details

  • 2003 - 1 Mission(s)
  • 2004 - 2 Mission(s)
  • 2005 - 2 Mission(s)
  • 2007 - 1 Mission(s)
  • 2008 - 2 Mission(s)
  • 2009 - 2 Mission(s)
  • 2010 - 1 Mission(s), 2 Technical assistance(s)
  • 2011 - 1 Mission(s)
  • 2012 - 1 Mission(s)
  • 2013 - 3 Mission(s)
  • 2014 - 1 Mission(s)
  • 2015 - 1 Mission(s)
  • 2016 - 2 Mission(s)
  • 2017 - 2 Mission(s)
  • 2018 - 1 Mission(s)
  • 2019 - 2 Mission(s)
  • 2022 - 2 Partnership(s)
  • 2023 - 1 Mission(s)
  • 2024 - 1 Mission(s), 1 Partnership(s)

External links

Governmental Cultural Institutions

Museums and Cultural Heritage Institutions

* ICCROM reserves the right to moderate the content provided by Member States for country profiles to ensure that they remain within the scope of ICCROM’s mission and pertinent to cultural heritage. However, ICCROM does not take responsibility for the accuracy and validity of the content supplied. The ideas and opinions expressed are those of the Member States.