ICCROM-Sharjah Award 2022

Under the patronage of His Highness Sheikh Dr. Sultan bin Mohammed Al Qasimi, Member of the Supreme Council and Ruler of Sharjah, ICCROM’s Regional Office in Sharjah (ICCROM-Sharjah) invites applications for the ICCROM-Sharjah Award for good practices in cultural heritage conservation and management in the Arab Region in 2021.

This biennial award seeks to honour and reward outstanding work that contributes to the protection and vitality of tangible cultural heritage in the Arab world. It will highlight the good practices in conservation and management of cultural heritage in terms of technical skills employed as well as social and economic impacts of the project on local communities. The protection offered by the project is understood as the effectiveness of the conservation and management in protecting the heritage asset against perceived threats – whether natural or human – for future generations to cherish.

The award categories are:

  • Heritage Sites and Buildings
  • Collections in Cultural Institutions

One prize will be given in each category, while other honorary awards might be granted to outstanding exemplary projects.

The award is open to heritage conservation projects in the Arab region undertaken by public or private institutions, government departments, public-private partnerships, or private sector initiatives based in the Arab region. A submission can be made by any professional member of the project team if accompanied by consent from the owner and a letter of support from the project client or leader (if they are not the applicant).

The deadline for receiving entries for the 2021-22 Award for Cultural Heritage Conservation is 30 January 2022.

For more information, please visit iccromsharjahawards.org